Thursday, March 7, 2013

9th Annual Doordarshan Hirkani Awards

Dr. Jamuna Pai receiving the 9th Annual Sunsilk 
Doordarshan Sahyadri Hirkani Award from Mr. Johnny Lever

Doordarshan Sahyadri hosted the 9th Annual Sunsilk Doordarshan Hirkani Awards function on the 5th of March at Ravindra Natya Mandir. 

A brainchild of Mr. Mukesh Sharma (DDG, Doordarshan) the Hirkani Award honors women for distinguished services ranging from various social causes to women empowerment.

This year Nine women were nominated by a jury to receive the Hirkani Award.

Dr. Jamuna Pai was one of the recipients of the award for her pioneering role in the field of cosmetology in India which is today one of the fastest growing sectors. Dr. Pai has been a skincare expert to the Miss India pageants for more than 15 years. Also through her clinics Blush, Dr. Pai has trained and empowered hundreds of women.

Among the distinguished guests present were Mr. Johnny Lever, Mr. Ajit Wadekar, Ms. Rohini Hattangdi, Mr. Ujjwal Nikam, Mr. Amin Sayani to name a few.

Other recipients of the Hirkani Award were: Neela Satyanarayan IAS (Maharashtra's first woman Election Commissioner), Sharada Sathe (first woman commission – Mahila Aayog, Maharastra), Neelima Mishra (in the field of rural micro credit in Maharastra), Grace Pinto (MD Ryan International Schools), Priti Patkar (founder member of Prerna), Indira Jaising (first additional solicitor general), Dr Devayani Borole (senior polar woman) and Prema Jayakumar (all India CA exam topper).

No comments:

Post a Comment